In December 1865, the eldest of six children, Mary Crawford Bryan was born to Jasper Newton Bryan St. and Amanda Fitzpatrick in Marshallville, Macon County, Georgia. She decided to stay and teach school in Kissimmee while visiting two of her brothers, Nathan Colbert “Bert” and Conrad in about 1890.
The September 23, 1909 edition of the “St. Cloud Tribune” announced completion of the Hotel St. Cloud, as it was originally named. It was built from material salvaged from the Disston Sugar Mill. Two weeks later the newspaper reported it had been filled to capacity since opening; with many sleeping on cots in the hotel parlor and other available places.
In July 1908, W.B. Tally was hired to design a building, to be called Fraternity Hall. The Masons and Pythians long felt the need for a meeting place for their organizations, one which would be large enough to accommodate their groups. The site of the old saloon next to S.C.G. Hardware Company was secured and W.B. Tally was hired as the architect.
The Osceola County Welcome Center and History Museum located at 4155 W. Vine St. Kissimmee, FL 34741 is a stop you must make! The hours of operation are from 9:00AM to 5:00PM, 7 days a week. The Osceola County Welcome Center and Welcome Center is closed on major holidays and the admission is FREE.
The Osceola County Welcome Center and History Museum was created in partnership with the Osceola County and the Osceola County Historical Society to teach locals and visitors about the county’s rich history.
The center is comprised of 4 realistic dioramas showcasing different habitats that you could encounter while in Osceola County: swamplands, pine flatwoods, oak hammock, and lakefront. Each exhibit features an interactive display and a scavenger hunt. If you are looking for a unique experience and are yearning to learn more about Osceola County this is the place to come!
If you are wondering why you should stop by to see us at the Welcome Center and History Museum, here are a few reasons:
Traveling trunks were widely used throughout the 19th century, and the Cadman family who settled in Narcoossee provided no exception. The Osceola County Historical Society cares for and preserves a number of trunks owned and used by the family during the late 1800s and early 1900s, as part of the Cadman Collection.
The formal opening for the Colonial Inn and Club was held on Washington’s birthday, February 22, 1928. It was built about 1915, as the former residence of J. Wade Tucker, a Georgia lumber baron. He had become successful in business ventures here.
It was announced that work on a nine-hole golf course was soon to be completed, with another nine holes planned. In addition, club members would enjoy the club house, tennis courts and locker rooms.
The history of Holy Redeemer Catholic Church begins with the arrival of Mr. Anthony Tress from Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania. He came to Kissimmee in the fall of 1895 on account of poor health and before the end of the year, a Mass was celebrated at the Tropical Hotel by a Jesuit Father from Tampa. Following the arrival of his wife, Annie and two children in 1898, a defunct bank building was used 3 times a year for Mass services. There was only one other Catholic family in town.
My first exposure to the Osceola County Historical Society (OCHS) and resulting enthusiastic desire to join as a member began with a story about growth…
In 2011, a community development plan was being prepared for the Narcoossee Corridor with input from local residents collected via a series of public meetings organized by the Osceola County Planning Department and District 5 Commissioner Fred Hawkins, Jr. As a participant, the topic of local historic preservation came to my attention when information was shared that the historic circa 1886 Narcoossee Schoolhouse was slated to be moved out to the Pioneer Village in Kissimmee.
The Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce is a vital organization and has been since it was founded in 1924. But prior to its formation, another group of citizens saw the need to bring business and industry to Osceola County.
On August 11, 1908, the Kissimmee Board of Trade was born with its object being “the upbuilding of this city and the advancement of our community in general”, as stated in The Kissimmee Valley Gazette August 14, 1908 edition. The article also states “Here we have the essential things that are the foundation of a first-class business center and tourist resort – climate, health, and soil and transportation facilities.” Interestingly, those same things are said today.
Every small town has at least one “colorful” character. Rube Lamont fit the bill for Kissimmee and although many people may have never heard of him, his background story is a fascinating one.
Born as Walter Savage in Morris County, New Jersey on June 9, 1876 he was the son of Eli C. and Catherine Savage. Walter was raised in Parsons, Kansas and played pro ball until enlisting in Company A 22nd Kansas Volunteer Infantry during the Spanish-American War. He was discharged November 3, 1898. It is not known when he began to call himself Rube Lamont.