The pride of St. Cloud, Florida; in 1925, was the clock attached to the People’s Bank Building located at the corner of Tenth Street and New York Avenue. The clock first chimed on Monday, July 20, 1925, striking various musical combinations arranged for each quarter hour. When the bank failed in 1928, the St. Cloud City Commission voted to purchase the clock, offering $250.00 - the amount to be absorbed in taxes owed.
Finally in 1947, as Veterans were returning home from World War II, many cities and towns were looking for ways to honor them. St. Cloud needed new police headquarters and also needed a suitable place to showcase the clock. In July of 1947 it was decided to solicit $2500.00 in donations from the public to erect a tower attached to the corner of a 20 ft. x 30 ft. building on the northeast corner of Tenth Street and New York Avenue. When completed the building would be turned over to the city as a “Memorial to the Veterans of all Wars” and would be the new police headquarters, with a portion of the building to be used as a public information service. The Veterans Memorial Committee was formed and Walter T. Bjork submitted the design for the Veterans Memorial Building and Clock Tower.
The completed building was turned over to the City of St. Cloud at the December 12, 1947 City Commission meeting. The clock had been chiming for several weeks and the face of the clock was illuminated at night. The Police had already moved in and the Chamber of Commerce counter was in, awaiting an attendant to begin duty by December 15th.
The building and clock tower remain the property of the City of St. Cloud and is currently in use as the Police Substation.
Sources: “St. Cloud Tribune” July 23, 1925 and July 18, 1929; “St. Cloud News” issues June 6 to December 12, 1947
Photo: Michael D. Bast postcard collection